A relationship based on emotions is a relationship based on ego

Acharya Prashant
6 min readNov 8, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: What are emotions?

Acharya Prashant (AP): How do we identify emotions? If I am saying emotions, if I am using that word, how do you know that you are emotional?

Listener (L): You feel it.

AP: You feel it. How do you figure out that somebody else is emotional? Alright, sitting in front of you as I am, do I appear emotional to you right now?

L: Yes.

AP: How do you figure that? Here I am sitting in front of you, let say: I am a picture. Do I appear emotional? Could the picture be depicting something through which we can say, ‘Yes, he is emotional right now’?

L: Yes

AP: When and what? Let say: I am a picture here. Now, this picture probably does not appear too emotional to you. What would this picture look like when you would say that this fellow is emotional?

L: By expressing.

AP: By expressing. So emotion is something that you can see through the eyes. What can you see through the eyes? Can you see thoughts through the eyes?

L: No.

--

--