Begin from where you are, and what you realize

Acharya Prashant
3 min readJun 10, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Sir, I am only a beginner on spiritual path, and my experience complicates things. Which tool can I adapt for myself to take the right decision?

Acharya Prashant: The response is hardly spiritual in the classical sense. I will not say that for life’s decisions, kneel down in front of the unknowable. I will not say that what you need, lies beyond the grasp of your mental faculties.

I am saying, “Live by what you already know.”

First of all, you have no other option. Secondly, what you already know is sufficient, to make a beginning. And you said that you are a beginner.

The trouble with most of us is not that we don’t know some transcendental, ecclesiastical Truth. The trouble is: we just don’t live by that which is within our mental province.

It is not as if we have come to the boundary of our knowledge, and our limited realization. We haven’t. If we come to our own boundaries, then the beyond cannot be far enough.

The boundary of the little self, is where the Truth stands to greet you.

So you don’t have to really search for the Truth.

--

--