Bhagwad Gita versus ‘The Secret’

Acharya Prashant
5 min readOct 30, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): The Bhagavad Gita says, “Don’t focus on the outcome of your work,” but the book entitled ‘The Secret’ says, “Visualize a positive outcome of your work.” Which of these is true?

Acharya Prashant (AP): You are comparing fine apples with rotten oranges.

When these pop bestsellers and neo-spiritual classics tell you, “Visualize what you will get,” then they are just stoking the fire of your greed and imagination.

They are not asking you: “What is it that prompts you to go for that particular thing?”

What they are saying is, “There is something you desire, alright. Now, start gratifying yourself in advance.”

That’s one way to whet your appetite.

After all, the normal human being chases nothing but his desires.

“I’m going for something because I feel that the thing is going to provide me with physical pleasure and/or mental happiness. I will not ask whether the thing is actually worthy of desire; I will not ask whether I really need to go after that thing; I will not ask who am I and what is it that I really need, and do I even need that thing.” These are taboo questions.

--

--