Can psychiatric medication cure mental disorders?

Acharya Prashant
3 min readJun 2, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Sir, two years back I got diagnosed with bipolar disorder and I have been medicated ever since 8 months. I felt I am very much dependent on it. So, I skip them then I found a very stupid alternative which was smoking marijuana. Then I got dependent on that. So then I started to get away from that as well. Is there any way possible to get out of bipolar disorder or to just ignore that and live a normal life because it really does effects my work life and it really affects my personal life as well.

Acharya Prashant: What do you call as bipolar disorder?

Q: According to the doctor according to what I feel?

AP: According to you?

Q: I have bifurcated views for everything, in most of the time I loose the will to do something or on the other and I am like confident enough to win the world, it’s like that, it’s like: sometimes I feel like I’m nobody and sometimes it’s just that I’m on the top of the world. And there is excessive desire for sex as well. So these are the few things involved.

AP: Is this not the case with almost everybody in general?

The degree of the disorder might vary but is this disorder fundamentally not

--

--