Continuous realisation and passive waiting

Acharya Prashant
2 min readSep 10, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Is there anything that I can do to have realisation in this point of time apart from waiting? Or should I do something?

Acharya Prashant (Q): No, nothing.

In fact, already you have said something important. You have already realized that waiting is so important. But this waiting must be a very passive waiting; a very inactive waiting. You cannot actively wait. You cannot count minutes and hours and years. It has to be a very passive waiting. You are not even waiting, you must forget that you are waiting. That kind of waiting. Not the kind of waiting that you have on a railway platform.

Because active waiting is arrogance. You are in some sense wanting the other to comply by your wish. Wanting the train to arrive as per your wish — that is active waiting.

I wait. And this waiting is no obligation upon you to arrive. I wait without bothering you to come. You may come, you may not come, I do not even know whether you exist, yet, I wait’.

That kind of waiting.

Very dormant, very sleepy waiting.

Listener: I become negative again and again, and I have realized it. But it keeps on repeating. What to do about it?

--

--