Continuous realization and passive waiting

Acharya Prashant
2 min readJun 11, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Is there anything that I can do to have realization in this point of time apart from waiting? Or should I do something?

Acharya Prashant: No, nothing.

In fact, you have already said something important. You have already realized that waiting is so important.

But this waiting must be a very passive waiting; a very inactive waiting. You cannot actively wait. You cannot count minutes and hours and years. It has to be a very passive waiting.

You are not even waiting, you must forget that you are waiting. That kind of waiting. Not the kind of waiting that you have on a railway platform.

Because active waiting is arrogance. You are in some sense wanting the other to comply by your wish. Wanting the train to arrive as per your wish — that is active waiting.

Passive waiting means that, ‘I do not know whether you will come, I do not know whether you should come, I do not even know whether you exists, yet, I wait.

And this waiting is no obligation upon you to arrive. I wait without bothering you to come. You may come, you may not come, I do not even know whether you exist, yet, I wait’.

That kind of waiting.

Very dormant, very sleepy waiting.

Watch the full video here.

You are welcome to know more about Acharya Prashant and the work of the Foundation. You can also contact the Foundation directly.

--

--