Destiny and fate

Acharya Prashant
10 min readSep 2, 2020

Well, here is this flower, it’s been plucked, its fate now is to shrivel down, lose its moisture, tenderness, and then meet the soil. If I toss it up, its fate is to? It’s entirely predictable. If I tell you, how much force I exert in tossing it up, with what velocity does it go up, you can accurately predict the time it will take to hit my hand again. This is cause and effect.

In the classical parlance, this is called Karma (The Action) and Karma Phal (Result/ Fruit of the Action). And both go together and are inseparable. And if time is removed, both are one. The moment of this flower leaving my hand and the moment of this flower hitting my hand back, are absolutely one, what separates them is just time. I am calling them one because the moment this flower leaves my hand it is certain that it will hit the earth or the hand, or any other thing again. Nobody can violate that certainty.

And when two events are one, when the happening of one guarantees the happening of the other, then we better not call them separate events at all. If two events are one in the sense that the happening of one, the occurrence of one, is a sure shot guarantee of the occurrence of the other, then we are needlessly calling the two events as separate. What separates them is just time. Remove time and, this is one my hand (tossing the flower up), and this is again on my hand (the flower comes back). Is there a…

--

--