Do not try to experience the Total, just totally experience whatever is

Acharya Prashant
13 min readMar 16, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant (AP): Searching for Oneness?

Listener (L): Yes

AP: Surely you must be experiencing a lack of oneness if you are searching for it.

L: Yes.

AP: Where do you find a lack of oneness?

L: I know that, first of all, the lack of oneness when I experience it, it is in me.

AP: Is it there, or, is it being thought of? How do you know that there is no oneness? And, how do you know what oneness is, if you do not know it?

You see, I go out to search for ‘Tibba’. Now to search for ‘Tibba’, first of all, I must know what ‘tibba’ is. Otherwise, how will I find ‘Tibba’? How will I identify it?

What is oneness? Is Oneness just not something you have read of in the books? Is Oneness just not a picture?

L: No, I know how oneness feels within me.

AP: If oneness feels like something, who is the one who feels oneness? Surely, someone who is a little away from oneness, right? To feel something, you will have to have a distance from it.

--

--