Does Understanding come from knowledge?

Acharya Prashant
9 min readJul 7, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): Acharya Ji, I am seeking peace, and for me, peace is important. But, I always find myself in many other choices. Why does it happen?

Acharya Prashant (AP): Once you have said that peace is important for you, the choice has already been made. The question is: Do you always say that peace is the utmost? Here you are starting from already an absolutely perfect point; is that the point you usually start from? When you are in the market and in the mall and at a wedding, is that the choice you have made “Peace is the utmost and I shall have peace at any cost”? That is not a choice you make very often. First of all, make that choice, and after that, even this much of a story won’t be needed. Once that choice is made, then the one you have chosen takes care of you; but first of all, make that choice. Here you are narrating a story as if the choice is certain, as if you are already and always choosing Truth and peace, is that so? Is that the fact of our life? Make the right choice and after that, you won’t need a narrative.

Q: Acharya Ji, if I am not making that choice, it is because — while I have read and understood that this peace is infinitely superior than other ways, I understood that academically, but I don’t have experience…

--

--