Either have God as the husband or just get socially married

Acharya Prashant
10 min readOct 15, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): Acharya Ji, recently I had a small argument with my parents regarding marriage. They have been pushing me for the last seven years, trying to somehow convince me to get married. I’ve got kind of really sick of it. I’m trying to push it, saying that I don’t need it. But now things have become more serious. It looks like the sole purpose of my dad is just to get me married. He has no interest in anything else. It seems like he is lifeless without this ambition being fulfilled.

I have tried to tell him in multiple ways, for five-seven years, that I will go ahead only when I really feel the need or significance of it but not because of fear. But they try to instill fear in me, saying “How will you live after some time? There is no security.” They have a lot of fears and a lot of worry. I have been ignoring their fears but now I am worried about their worry, their health. I don’t know how to explain them — I have tried multiple times.

Acharya Prashant (AP): You won’t be able to explain.

Q: And I cannot see them suffering.

AP: You won’t be able to convince them. In fact, you will just end up doing what they want you to do. It’s not so much about…

--

--