God is what you want more than anything else

Acharya Prashant
2 min readJan 8, 2022

The following excerpt is from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question (Q): Acharya Ji, Pranaam! I have a six-year-old son. Me and my husband regularly discuss a lot of issues, after watching your videos. My son has observed that we use words like ‘God’, ‘Truth’, ‘Love’ very often.

Many times, he approaches me and asks, “What is ‘Love’?” and “What is ‘God’?” We really don’t know what reply to give to him.

Please advice.

Acharya Prashant (AP): If you can explain these things (God, Truth, Love) to a six-year-old, then you really know. If you can’t explain them to a six-year-old, then all you have is words.

So, the kids to come to the mother.

Q: He asks me such questions, and sometimes to his Dad as well.

AP: “How do you feel when Muma is far away?”

“Not good.”

“How do you feel when you are with Muma?”

“Good.”

This ‘goodness’ is God. ‘God’ is — that which you want.

“So Muma, if I want a chocolate, is God a chocolate?”

“When you want a chocolate, and I show you a toffee, what do you do? You ignore the toffee and rush towards the chocolate. When you…

--

--