How to be excellent in one’s work?

Acharya Prashant
6 min readOct 10, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Acharya Ji, today I am listening to you from my workplace, so I have a question related to ‘work’. You shared an inspiring story of Guru Kabir and his profession, I want to have the same level of energy and inspiration in my profession. Your teaching has helped me to understand a lot about my concept of ‘work’ and getting the basics right.

Please guide me on how to deal with procrastination and low self-esteem, resulting in lack of self-confidence. How to work like Krishna?

Acharya Prashant (AP): No, this is not what I said. Kabir is fundamentally devoted to the Truth, and in your question, you are talking only of the profession.

You are asking, “I want to have the same level of inspiration and energy in my profession as Kabir had.” You are saying that you want to deal with procrastination, low self-esteem, and lack of confidence. And you are asking how to work like Krishna.

How to work like Krishna?

Be like Krishna.

You cannot try to emulate the work of a Krishna, without firstly being Krishna.

At the center of Kabir’s life is not his weaving, but ‘Ram’.

At the center of Krishna’s life is

--

--