How to be free from the ego and intellect?

Acharya Prashant
6 min readJun 15, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: So, yesterday I was here, you pointed that I am enslaved by my own intellect. I kind of thought about that overnight and I realized, how you are right, and how my intellect is tied to my ego as well; and in order to feed my ego I am constantly having to prove my intellect and it is just an ongoing cycle. Do you have any suggestions to break that cycle?

Acharya Prashant: Experiment!

Q: Experiment with what?

AP: Experiment with remaining purposeless, reasonless and causeless.

The intellect thrives on reason and purpose, whenever you do something the intellect says, “For what?” “Give me a reason.” “What do you ‘get’ from this?”

The intellect is very profit orientated. Experiment with living without the profit purpose.

Experiment with wandering without a destination or an objective. You can’t yet commit yourself to it. That is too much to ask, so I say, “Try it out a little; experiment, explore.” Maybe you will get the flavor of something that will spur you on.

‘Do stuff without any ostensible reason at least’.

Give yourself the freedom to just, ‘be’ — without being constrained

--

--