How to bear prolonged Sadhna?

Acharya Prashant
5 min readJul 27, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question (Q): Acharya ji, how to bear prolonged Sadhana (spiritual discipline)?

I have inertia in moving along the spiritual path. One day I sat down to read Jiddu Krishnamurti for MAG (Month of Awakening) session, and I read him for hours. I really enjoyed and felt at peace, yet I never opened it again, even though I wanted to complete the remaining chapters. Similarly, when I am feeling low, I feel like watching some spiritual videos, but I choose only the ones under fifteen minutes. I can watch five-six videos which are short, but I will never choose to watch a one hour video.

I know that I have not yet reached the state to understand things beyond mind, yet sometimes I question that what exactly I am trying to achieve on this path.

Please help.

How should I get over the inertia, and the doubt? What should I do? I am confused.

Acharya Prashant (AP): It is not about understanding. It is also not about not knowing what you are trying to achieve. It is simply a thing of the modern, post-modern age called ‘attention-deficit’.

Nothing else.

Had you already known what is worth achieving in life, there is anyways no need to watch…

--

--