How to drop the burden of the Past?

Acharya Prashant
3 min readJun 26, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Sir, I watch your videos and I feel that I am getting addicted to your videos. Your videos and your talks have lit a fire in me to search for the Truth. But I carry on with the things which I am doing from the past thirty-seven years.

Now I have started feeling that it was better had I never heard anything about the Truth. There is a fight going on within me between my thirty-seven years old journey, and this search for Truth.

Please guide me.

Acharya Prashant: You keep something with yourself only if that thing is of use to you, right? That which is of no use to you is called as ‘waste’. Simple!

What is it that defines ‘usefulness’ to you?

What is it that characterizes ‘usefulness’?

Something is of use to a man, only if it gives him Peace, only if it gives him some Clarity.

See what the entire world is rushing after. People do several kinds of things. Somebody is a sportsman, somebody enters politics, somebody wants to earn money, somebody runs after sensual pleasures.

Ultimately, what is it that all want through their miscellaneous movements?

--

--