How to get rid of mental patterns

Acharya Prashant
7 min readMay 4, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Sometimes when I get connected with someone and find them to be very advanced spiritually, in physical skills, in intelligence, in overall excellence, then I get very moved by them, attracted to what they represent and I get a sense that I want that too. But then, when I try to focus on their teachings, I run into a pattern.

The pattern is that I start to see imaginary dialogues and meetings with them where either I am presenting very advanced observations to them and they are impressed by me or I am sitting at their feet in complete surrender and usually crying. The image of being advanced gives me a sense of importance and the image of being in surrender gives me a sense of catharsis. However, both only last for a very brief moment.

I think it’s the underlying need of acceptance as someone worthwhile and love and appreciation is what I am subconsciously seeking. But these imaginary trips are a distraction and they suck away my time and focus from what is actually being said. In the end, I gain very little from sessions and readings, as I go completely go off course. How to get rid of these patterns and truly listen?

Acharya Prashant: No, don’t fight the pattern. The pattern is auspicious even though it is just a…

--

--