How to identify a fake person?

Acharya Prashant
5 min readSep 3, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Acharya Ji, I neither understand fakeness nor the depth hidden in words. If someone says, “Nice to meet you, let’s meet again sometime,” I start thinking that the person actually wants to meet me. Someone says, “You will get this contract,” I believe in him.

Such fake assurances are given by so many people to so many people, but I take assurances for real, and then I am never prepared for the bad days.

How to understand ‘fakeness’?

Acharya Prashant: You have said that you do not understand the fakeness and depth, you cannot tell them apart. You are saying that you do not know the false against the Truth.

Understanding is not possible in a climate of expectation, or laziness, or greed, or fear.

Somebody tells you that you will get the contract, and you are very inclined to believe him. Why? Because there is a pleasure in believing that good news are coming. That’s the entire principle of hope. That’s why this entire world runs on hope. That’s why the world is duped by hope.

People tell you that the contract is coming your way. Why don’t you ask, “Why do they never tell me that the contract is never coming your way?”? Because looking at you, they know…

--

--