How to know one’s calling in life?

Acharya Prashant
4 min readMay 3, 2020

Questioner: How can I understand my ‘calling’ in life?

Acharya Prashant: What do you mean by ‘calling’?

The question is: “How do I understand my ‘calling’? How do I decide what to do?”

Do you mean in terms of profession, or career? Are you already not confused about whether to do this or that? Are you asking from clean slate?

Q: I am confused.

AP: If you are confused, that means you already attach importance to two or three options, right? And you are confused only because you cannot choose from in-between those options. That is your confusion. Correct?

Q: Yes.

AP: Right?

Q: Yes.

AP: You are confused because you cannot choose between Wine, Vodka, Gin, or Whisky. And even when you want to ask regarding your calling, you want me help you, put your finger on one of the four bottles, right? Wine, Vodka, Gin, and Whisky.

That is the reason behind your confusion. What is the reason? You have these four options. Now where is the apple juice? Where is the apple juice? Unless you first remove these four, would apple juice ever figure in your mind? That is what is meant by — asking from a clean slate.

--

--