How to learn to trust people?

Acharya Prashant
7 min readMay 17, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: I believe that I like the ability to trust people. I like myself trying to flirt with fake as I say. There are times when I find myself desiring or trying or making a very good effort to be in faith, and then there will be time and suddenly I’ll be put off completely. That was my past. But this is something that I feel now that I probably like the ability to trust people. I don’t know what to do about it? Whether I should trust people or pay attention to it or not? I don’t even know what to do with it.

AP: Man has this ability, a very unfortunate ability to come to a temporary stability in an unstable equilibrium. Because you come from an engineering background so I use this example. You can have a chemical which is unstable but is not coming in contact with something to react with. Now, it can conveniently remain isolated, secured, in its own high energy unstable position. Right? It can remain so for years, for decades, for a lifetime. Now, how does that chemical gain a more stable, more peaceful, a low energy equilibrium? How?

How does that happen in chemistry?

Listener: A reaction.

AP: A reaction! It can either react with something else or it can be given situations in which it breaks down…

--

--