How to recover from a break-up?

Acharya Prashant
5 min readApr 19, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: I am a person who is very sensitive and emotional and that’s why I easily get hurt. It’s been two months since I broke up with a guy and I am just not able to move on. It’s affecting me a lot. I never expected this from him. It has broken me completely from the inside.

I have lost myself, I have lost my mental peace and I feel so lonely and incomplete without him. And it is even more painful, when I see that guy with some other girl. I still want him in my life, although now I know that it is not possible because he has completely moved on. What should I now do, because it’s harming me and my career and my future?

Acharya Prashant: You are saying it has broken you completely from the inside.

No, you are lying.

Had you been completely broken from inside, then there would have been nobody left inside to experience the hurt.

What you call the inside, is just the ego inside. And the ego is a very magical thing. It becomes stronger, when gets hurt. It is not as if it loses its power, when it gets hurt.

The more you hurt it, the more strength it gathers. So, first of all, please understand that you have a lot inside. A lot that has become only more…

--

--