How to stop thinking about the future?

Acharya Prashant
14 min readOct 10, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Acharya Ji, conceptually I agree with everything you say. But my situation is that I have left a lot of my material stuff behind, and I seek that life that you speak about, but every step that I take I am always thinking about the next step.

I am here in India, I practice yoga and meditation, and I enjoy the beauty of the mountains, and I am trying to live this awesome spiritual life, without the material things. But now that I am here, I am also constantly thinking about what is next, what I am going to do when I return from India. It seems like a never-ending cycle.

How can I stop thinking about the future?

Acharya Prashant (AP): A man felt burdened with Kilograms and grams. The kilos were a few, the grams were numerous. To make it more concrete — the kilos were four, and the grams were forty. The fellow dropped forty of them, forty grams, but he missed out on dropping the four, the four Kilograms. And now he says, “I have dropped so much, and I still feel heavy.”

Why does he feel heavy when he has dropped so many of them? Because he dropped the ones that were easy to drop; the real weight he didn’t quite drop.

You dropped this and that, but have you

--

--