How to use the mind fully?

Acharya Prashant
5 min readJan 31, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner(Q): They will also teach the same thing, first of all, they wash the mind and they say do not apply the mind, and after that what happens? Conditioning. The same has happened to us till now. We have been taught, “This is a stone and God is inside the stone.” We have said, okay. If we say, why? They say, “Here you don’t have to use your brain.” This has been told by you also. I have listened in the discourse that, “you have a mind and use it.” Now where it has to be used, how it has to be used, up to which extent it should be used, or it should be dropped?

Acharya Prashant (AP): It has to be absolutely used. Your assertion is totally inverted. My teaching is, use the mind fully. You want to be adamant that the mind will be used only partially. Do you know what is partial usage of the mind? The partial usage of the mind is, “I will question everything on the outside, but I will never let the mind question the mind itself.”

You want to ask, “Does that statue have God?” Have you ever asked, does this statue have me (referring to the questioner)? Why do you stop there? I am challenging you. You find a statue outside and you want to ask, “Does this statue contain God?” You too are a statue. Have you ever asked, “Does this statue contain me?” I am asking you…

--

--