If you had no false teachers, you would require no teacher today

Acharya Prashant
6 min readMay 9, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Sir, I have come here for the first time and I want to know you better and that is why I want to ask, why do you teach?

Acharya Prashant: Why do you listen?

Listener: Sir, actually I come here to be in the company of like-minded people.

AP: No, you do not come here for like-minded people.

What you are looking for is extremely difficult to confess.

L: Confess what?

AP: You have to tell.

L: But I am asking you that why are you teaching?

AP: I have responded.

If you can understand what is it that you want, then you’ll come to know why anything else happens in this universe. Without knowing who you are and what you are looking for, how will you know anything else?

Who am I? I am right now a person in ‘your eyes’ and unless you know what your eyes are, how will you know me?

Am I an objective entity?

Do I exist without you?

The person to whom you are asking this question is a person in ‘your eyes’. So you must first know…

--

--