If you think you understand then you’re quite unfortunate

Acharya Prashant
5 min readApr 16, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: How to grasp what you and the saints are saying? How do I give it a place in my mind? A lot of times I believe I am not able to get it, and feel helpless.

Acharya Prashant: What do you mean by giving it a place? What do you mean by grasping? and What do you mean by getting it? These are the three words, phrases you used.

Where would you give this a place? In your mind. Don’t you see what you are trying to do. You are trying to integrate what I am saying with your pre-existing knowledge. That is what you mean by giving it a place. You get something new from the market and then you try to give it a place in your house. Now does that shake up your house. Does that show you the falseness of your house? or Does that decorate your house even further?

Please see what you are trying to do with what I’m saying. You are trying to give it a place. In other words, you are trying to show it its place. Do you see that’s a statement of insult.

Then you say I’m not getting it. It’s great if you are not getting it. You don’t have to get it. Said so many times. If you think you have understood, then you are quite unfortunate. Why must you get it? You don’t have to get it.

--

--