IIT Kharagpur: The scriptures address the one you are

Acharya Prashant
7 min readMay 20, 2022

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): Acharya Ji, you talk a lot about the importance of Vedanta. Should I get familiar with it at my age already?

Acharya Prashant (AP): You haven’t yet started?

Q: No, sir.

AP: It is too late!

Q: Sir, how? I wasn’t actually sure if I would be able to digest it or not.

AP: How did you decide on that without even trying? Please! Which all scriptures have you laid your hands on?

Q: Sir, almost none.

AP: And having tried on none, you concluded that it is too early for you to start, or that it is too difficult for you to start!

Q: Sir, my family has taught me about Bhagavad Gita and all, but initially I used to find it irrelevant. Maybe I was not ready then. But lately, I have been thinking about trying it again.

AP: You know, if there is a compulsory twenty-credit course on the Upanishads, you will not only read the Upanishads but even try to secure an A, right? The moment you know it carries twenty credits, you will forget all your hesitation. That is how we are, you know. “If it gives me placement, money, and CGPA, I will read.”

--

--