IIT Kharagpur: To know your real responsibility, know who you really are

Acharya Prashant
12 min readMay 21, 2022

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner (Q): We encounter these nodes in the path of our lives where we have to make decisions. The majority of us have a lot of duties associated with our life, and these duties also come with some demands associated with how we must act. For example, right now I am a student and I am a son. There are times when the duties associated with these identities conflict with each other. For example, should I act as a student here, or should I act as a son here? And this is something I feel is very important for us to learn: how to prioritize these duties. In essence, it is called dharma sankata, where you have multiple conflicting dharmas or duties, and you have to choose one of them. So, how exactly do we prioritize this?

Acharya Prashant (AP): May I know your name, please?

Q: Devang.

AP: Devang, duty is something you do. Responsibility is something you take seriously, you carry. So, your duties are related to who you are. Responsibility is something you bear: these are the things that you do. You say, “I am bearing my responsibilities, I am right now in the line of my duty.” So, this is something that you do.

--

--