Is spirituality related to evolution?

Acharya Prashant
6 min readApr 2, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant (AP): What is evolution? Is there evolution without time? Is there evolution without movement?

Is there evolution without time? And what is time? Time is the essential mind stuff. Time is past and future.

Spirituality is to know, the falseness that is evolution. It is not an evolution, kindly drop this. The mind is anyway always wandering in the past and future, and that is what you call as evolution. You call yourself as products of evolution. Do you know what that means? You are calling yourself a product of conditioning. “I am the one who has accumulated over time. I am an evolutionary product” that’s what we say about ourselves. That means I am the sum total of my entire past, entire history. I am, what my past has made myself to be. I am so deeply identified with the past that I call myself an evolutionary output.

The first thing that the spiritual mind realizes is that “I am not a product of the past. And if I keep saying that I will continue to suffer. Then I will continue to claim that I am a Hindu, that these are my scriptures, such is my nation, this is my family, my possessions, my belonging, my prestige. My this. My this. My this. My this. Me.” That is the accumulated self, the evolutionary…

--

--