Keep moving, even if it is dark

Acharya Prashant
6 min readMay 8, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: I have lived life in images. In past I have kept myself away from experiences with the excuse of not being sufficiently prepared. I realize now that all this is a myth. How can I be prepared without practice?

But I’m still afraid, afraid of losing, afraid of not having the proper logic to debate my opponents. My competitor is winning with walkovers, I’m losing respect, people, chances of a good life. I have the opportunity to save myself but instead I’m asking you what to do. Seems, I want to surrender and live like a slave. Why am I letting somebody steal an edge over me?

Is my self image so low that I’m not standing up for myself?

Acharya Prashant: Abhay, this is a classical case of, ‘duvidha mein dono gaye, maya mili na Ram’ (In doubt, both are lost: the material and the Truth).

It’s a phase of transition, it’s an intermediate stage, and right now you belong neither here nor there. When somebody is in this kind of situation, I advise him to keep moving forward with greater speed, and greater determination. Don’t just stop there. And if someone repeatedly tells me that he can’t move forward, then I advise him to turn back.

--

--