Love is intolerant, love interferes

Acharya Prashant
8 min readFeb 6, 2020

I see that I am in peace, but my neighbour or the other one is living in violence, then I just won’t say, “It’s none of my business.” I will interfere!

Love is not peaceful coexistence with violence.

The question is why one must interfere? If one is already at peace, then why must one interfere?

At the basis of your question lies the assumption of individual salvation. You are assuming that one can be at peace while still being divided. You said, “I am at peace.” What is this ‘I’? This ‘I’ is still divided from the neighbour because it does not want to help or interfere. Is peace or liberation possible to the individual, to the fragmented unit that ‘you’ and ‘I’ are? Is it possible that this room is burning and everybody in this room is burning, and ‘I am at peace’?

But we feel so, not only do we feel so, even our religious scriptures say that. They say that “If you do the right things, you will land in heaven.” Do you see what they are communicating to us? What they are communicating to us is false. They are telling us that individual liberation is possible. They are saying that the fragment can be liberated.

They are saying, “If you have done the right things, then you would be liberated.”

How can this ‘I’ be liberated?

--

--