Love is letting yourself be absolutely free

Acharya Prashant
7 min readMar 15, 2022

The following excerpt is from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Listener (L): There was no restriction about the percentages. My parents expected me to just pass. So I really loved all my school life and even after that as I wanted. But now I see that I am regretting it. At present, I think I shouldn’t have done that. But, I really loved what they liked. I loved it myself.

Acharya Prashant (AP): Exactly! That’s exactly what we have been saying. There is one who is expected by parents and teachers to top the class. So he tops the class! Let’s say this man (pointing to a person in the audience). There is another man whose parents expect, “You just pass and that is alright.” He also just fulfills expectations! What expectations do we have from him? (Pointing right) He will top. He topped. What expectations do we have from him? (Pointing left) he will just pass. So he just passed. Both are regretting!

It is obvious that you will regret because you are only meeting expectations. You are only again meeting expectations. You are saying that “I am expected just to pass”, right? So you are just passing! You never went to the books. You thought that books are there just to pass. You never really knew what it is to go close to something or somebody. Remember,

Attention is love.

--

--