On Advaita Vedanta: Know your passion and direct it rightly

Acharya Prashant
10 min readApr 9, 2022

The following excerpt is from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

द्रव्यार्थमन्नवस्त्रार्थं यः प्रतिष्ठार्थमेव वा ।
संन्यसेदुभयभ्रष्टः स मुक्तिं नाप्तिमर्हति ॥

dravyārthamannavastrārthaṃ yaḥ pratiṣṭhārthameva vā
saṃnyasedubhayabhraṣṭaḥ sa muktiṃ nāptimarhati

A wise man should embrace renunciation only when there has risen in his mind dispassion for all the worldly things; otherwise he is fallen.

~ Maitreya Upanishad, Chapter 2, Verse 20

✥ ✥ ✥

Questioner (Q): Acharya Ji, I am afraid that I do not know this total dispassion. My dispassion is partial and situation-dependent. This stubborn attraction towards the world makes me feel I am not worthy of being your student. At the same time, the meaninglessness of everything makes me run back to you. It is as you have said: can’t go away, can’t directly come close. What exactly does it mean to be fallen if one embraces renunciation without dispassion for all worldly things?

--

--