On Advaita Vedanta: The doubt is the disease

Acharya Prashant
10 min readApr 10, 2022

The following excerpt is from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

तपसा प्राप्यते सत्त्वं सत्त्वात्संप्राप्यते मनः ।
मनसा प्राप्यते ह्यात्मा ह्यात्मापत्त्या निवर्तते ॥

tapasā prāpyate sattvaṃ sattvātsaṃprāpyate manaḥ
manasā prāpyate hyātmā hyātmāpattyā nivartate

Through penance, one gets to know the inborn disposition (sattva); from sattva one gets (stability of) the mind; through the mind, one realizes the Ātman; by realizing the Self (worldly life is) prevented.

~Maitreya Upanishad, Chapter 1, Verse 6

✥ ✥ ✥

Questioner (Q): My life seems to be going well. I feel like I am doing everything correctly, and my routine is very orderly and stable. The state of my mind is mostly very clear throughout the week and I do not observe many disturbances. I wake up, go to work, spend time with spiritual literature, listen to you, and try to keep myself attentive to my inner state constantly. The mind is still, and I witness my activities and the world…

--

--