On Bhagavad Gita: Why do we swing between divinity and evil?

Acharya Prashant
9 min readJan 1, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

इदमद्य मया लब्धमिमं प्राप्स्ये मनोरथम् ।

इदमस्तीदमपि मे भविष्यति पुनर्धनम् ।। 16.13 ।।

idam adya mayā labdham imaṁ prāpsye manoratham

idam astīdam api me bhaviṣhyati punar dhanam

This has been gained by me today; this desire I shall obtain; this is mine, and this wealth also shall be mine in the future.

~ Shrimad Bhagavad Gita, Chapter 16, Verse 13

✥ ✥ ✥

असौ मया हतः शत्रुर्हनिष्ये चापरानपि ।

ईश्वरोऽहमहं भोगी सिद्धोऽहं बलवान्सुखी ।। 16.14 ।।

asau mayā hataḥ śhatrur haniṣhye chāparān api

īśhvaro ’ham ahaṁ bhogī siddho ’haṁ balavān sukhī

That enemy has been slain by me, and others also shall I slay. I am…

--

--