On Khalil Gibran : Differentiate, Where There Really Are differences

Acharya Prashant
3 min readSep 21, 2019

In aloneness, in solitude, the poet is suggesting, that we are able to see the differences, and we are able to see the commonalities.

{Your inner soul, my friend,

is surrounded with solitude and seclusion.

Were it not for this solitude and this seclusion

you would not be you and I would not be I.

If it were not for that solitude and seclusion,

I would, if I heard your voice, think myself to be speaking;

Yet, if I saw your face, I would imagine that I were looking into a mirror.”} — Excerpts from a poem by Khalil Gibran.

We are able to see, that there is no Love without Freedom and Love and Freedom are one. Oh, they are one! Love and Freedom are One! Just the name is different. And we are able to see, that black and white are One, that the circle and the rectangle are One, that the victory and the loss are One, that the man and woman, that day and night are One.

The day and night are One, the man and woman are One, the child and the aging one are One. They are all One. There is no need to discriminate between them. When you don’t discriminate between them, you are said to be living in equanimity. But you must differentiate…

--

--