Only by seeing the falseness of otherness, you are able to help the other

Acharya Prashant
13 min readMar 2, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

“By oneself indeed is evil done and by oneself is one defiled; by oneself is evil not done and by oneself is one purified.

Purity and impurity depend entirely on oneself; no one can purify another.”

“Your work is to find out what your work should be and not to neglect it for another’s. Clearly discover your work and attend to it with all your heart.”

~ Buddha, Dhammapada

Question (Q): I feel that I am going on the right track in my life. But sometimes when I look at my family, I get distracted — my steps cease. What to do?

Acharya Prashant (AP): Be it family, or anything else that you consider important, there would be goodness and harmony only when your priorities are in order.

What do I mean by that?

If the family becomes your first priority, you can be assured that the family would come to ruin. If a person becomes…

--

--