Real communication can happen only from the heart

Acharya Prashant
3 min readMay 5, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: I want to increase my communication with my mom and dad or with my friends; because this is what which is troubling me: They want something from me, and they think I think only of myself, but I am not able to do either of them. What to do?

Acharya Prashant: When an insecure mind talks to another insecure mind, anyway there is no communication. There is only an apparent exchange of words.

Only the heart can talk, only the heart can listen, so conversations are either genuine or they are not. Fake communication is no communication.

So, when you say that ‘I am afraid of consequences, how do I act because my parents might feel bad, how do I take them into the loop,’ please understand, the situation is already very bad and whatever else happens will be better than this. The key to improvement is to realize that you are already at the rock bottom. Things cannot go any worse, we keep waiting for more damage, we say this much damage is acceptable.

You know, that is the nature of the mind — everything in the mind is limited, so even your perception of the damage being done to you is limited. You can never know the full extent of your loss. In the domain of the mind everything…

--

--