Remain a little empty, remain a little foolish

Acharya Prashant
2 min readJul 17, 2020

Nothing stops you except your beliefs, and all your beliefs are coming from outside. There is nothing that I can say that you that you already do not know. It is just that I know far less than you do. I only have that which I purely and myself know. You have that which you know by yourself; and you also have that which the world has stuffed into you. So you are far more knowledgeable than me.

That is my little secret. I do not know a lot of things that you do. And that is why Ramana Maharishi says, “Kindly be free of your knowledge.”

“Don’t be so knowledgeable.”

“Don’t be such a scholar.”

“Don’t be so worldly wise.”

“Remain a little empty, remain a little foolish!”

The world is telling you that everything is limited. Is not all worldly knowledge about objects and isn’t every object limited? So what is the world telling you?

The world is telling you that everything comes to an end. That’s what limits mean - everything comes to an end. If everything comes to an end, then you have to live in fear. So you are suffering.

All the knowledge that ever comes to you, comes with the message of suffering, because all knowledge is about stuff that is limited. That is why one must live by the heart because only there lies limitlessness.

Watch the full video here.

You are welcome to know more about Acharya Prashant and the work of the Foundation. You can also contact the Foundation directly.

--

--