Right work

Acharya Prashant
1 min readJun 15, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant (AP): I need not pick up work that is suited to my strengths. I must do that which I am really afraid of doing. That is the right definition of work.

Work is not something that you do in order to inflate yourself or to fatten your pockets. Work is something you engage in in order to challenge yourself, reduce yourself, beat yourself, ground yourself to dust. That’s the right definition of work.

Every young person who is about to choose a career, decide on work in life, must keep this in mind, my humble advice: See what is it that really, really troubles you, and then work should be the medicine for your trouble. That’s the way you must choose work.

Watch the full video here.

You are welcome to learn more about Acharya Prashant and his literature. You can also contact the Foundation directly.

--

--