Seeing all change, I stay as I am

Acharya Prashant
4 min readAug 19, 2020

समाध्यासादिविक्षिप्तौ व्यवहारः समाधये ।एवं विलोक्य नियमं एवमेवाहमास्थितः ॥ १२-३॥

samādhyāsādivikṣiptau vyavahāraḥ samādhaye ।evaṃ vilokya niyamaṃ evamevāhamāsthitaḥ ॥ 12–3॥

Seeing the transitions between abnormal states of incorrect perception and the meditative states as a (natural) rule,

I stay as I am. (12–3)

~ Ashtavakra Gita (Chapter-12, Verse-3)

What is there to watch? If one stays watchful, what is there to watch? Can the Truth be watched? What is it that you end up watching, whenever you watch?

All that is transient, temporal, false — that is what is watched.

And how is that watched?

That is watched through non-identification.

“So, all those things are happening. Yes they are happening. But they are not carrying me away. They do have the power to take me along with them, but that is not happening.”

“A great wind is blowing, it’s a storm. My body can experience that storm, so it’s not that I am imagining. The storm is indeed there, but it is not taking me away. I am not being blown away.”

“Everything about me is shaking, shivering. Look at my hair, look at my clothes. I can feel the gust on my face, but it is almost as if I am…

--

--