Seeking a good looking partner?

Acharya Prashant
5 min readApr 18, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: You just talked about different planes of love that are possible, like mental, physical, spiritual. The way I have been raised, I understand only the mental and physical planes. That’s how I come to see the world itself as well. Maybe because of my upbringing, I have been made to feel that I am not that beautiful, so I want someone beautiful and that won’t just happen, because they also have the same definition of beauty and that’s where mental things come in. Somehow you are mentally well enough so may be that person likes you mentally and then she wants to be with you physically as well. How should I understand physical and mental attraction?

Acharya Prashant: That too depends on your definition of yourself. If you take yourself as primarily physical then beauty too for you would be something just physical right? You will look at the women most capable of successfully reproducing: that is the prakritik definition of beauty. Do you understand this? What is the prakritik definition of beauty? What is prakriti: physical nature. This, that we see all around us.

Here we don’t have beautiful stuff. Tell me beautiful stuff that you find in physical nature and you will be astonished that in physical nature most of that which you call as beautiful is

--

--