Suffering and courage

Acharya Prashant
4 min readAug 21, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Acharya Ji, as you said that the realisation, the understanding, or seeing, frees us as a spontaneous action. How does it arise? Whatever I understand through my thinking, analysis, knowledge, I understand a bit. But that understanding does not free me of my habits.

So, my question is: How is ‘my understanding’ is different from ‘the understanding’ that you are talking about? Is it also born out of knowledge?

Acharya Prashant:

It is born out of suffering.

There is no other transformative force.

You do not need to transform, if you are not suffering. If you are already alright, do you need to change? So, all Spirituality springs from there.

Wisdom, Realisation, and Understanding are needed, because man is not alright.

So you have to come face-to-face with the fact of your inner disquiet.

And that requires courage.

That requires a dedication to Peace.

Why does it require courage? Because disquiet does not live within us carrying the name of ‘disquiet’. ‘Disquiet’ lives within us carrying very lovely, and sacred names; names in which in which we have made a lot…

--

--