Tell the mind the valuable is safe

Acharya Prashant
10 min readMay 12, 2023

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question (Q): Sir, how to get rid of unwanted thoughts in the mind?

Acharya Prashant (AP): The unwanted thought? What is your name?

Listener (L): Avnish

AP: Avnish is asking how to get rid of the unwanted noise of thought in the mind. How many of you have experienced this, that there is so much of unnecessary noise going on in the mind? What is this noise? Let us examine the noise.

What is the noise all about? What does the noise say? Where does it come from? What does it consist of? What is this noise? Tell me, many of you raised your hands. Tell me something about the noise. What does the noise consist of? Examine the noise. Tell me something about the noise.

L: Noise is negativity.

AP: That negativity, could I call it fear in a way? Fear?

L: No sir, it is not fear. Anything comes to me, I always take it negatively.

AP: What do you mean by taking something negatively?

L: Sir, positive approach is not there.

AP: Doubt. Can I call it doubt, a doubt, a particular doubt?

--

--