The effect of Spirituality on married life

Acharya Prashant
3 min readMay 5, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: A lot of changes have happened in my lifestyle and in my relationship with my wife after I have started watching your videos and reading your books. We spend a lot of time alone now. We don’t get into escapes easily, don’t get into such entertainment activities which can cause suffering later on. But, as I am spending more and more time with books, watching your videos and observing my mind, at times I wonder: is this also an escape? Is this the right way, or am I am doing something wrong?

Another question is: as a married couple, there is aloneness in our relationship, though we are together. Can aloneness happen between a couple? Can marriage and Spirituality go together? What is the effect of Spirituality on marriage?

Acharya Prashant: A movement into oneself brings about a lot of new things. That which used to frighten you, does not appear so very frightening. That which would easily disturb you, appears a bit childish now. The tendency to lose equilibrium reduces, you do not easily go off-center, and even if you do, you return comparatively sooner. An urge to explore new things arises and there are many-many changes.

Sometimes even the language changes. Sometimes even before you can realise that…

--

--