The fun of playing, or the goal of victory?

Acharya Prashant
4 min readJun 7, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Pranam Acharya Ji, as you suggested, I have started stepping out of my house and I have admitted my son to a nearby school. I noticed that the teachers are harsh with the students, and I’m worried that my son would be forced to learn instead of being allowed to learn at his own pace. But I also know that there are not many schools that provide a healthy environment to children. How should I look at this situation? I have also noticed that I’m scared to take decisions on my own, thinking that they might lead to bad results. I have too many expectations, it seems. I feel like justifying my expectations most of the time, and I am unable to drop them. Can you please help me understand this better?

Acharya Prashant: Congratulations, you have started stepping out of the house. Now see what you do when you step out of the house. The work, the actions have to be creative, constructive. What you do when you’re out of the house must bring clarity to you, boldness to you, and wellness to the entire world. It’s not merely a personal thing.

So, just as it is important to be exposed to experiences, be exposed to the happenings in the world so that you know the fact of living so that you know what this beast called the world is, equally…

--

--