The timeless Truth is in all-time — past, present, and future

Acharya Prashant
4 min readSep 27, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Questioner: Sir, you once said that, “The future is not controlled by God but various forces are acting simultaneously creating unpredictable future events.” I love this teaching of yours. But when I read ‘Yoga Vasishtha’, I found that in some chapters Guru Vasishtha conveyed to Lord Rama, the conversation between Krishna and Arjuna happening in the future. How is that possible? How could Guru Vasishtha know that Mahabharata is going to happen? Please throw some light on it.

Acharya Prashant: The answer is contained in the Gita itself. Shri Krishna tells Arjuna, “Arjuna, there has been no time, no place when I have not been there or you have not been there.” So He says, “The two of us are always there. Since the beginning of time, there’s you and there’s me. It’s just that I’m there even before the beginning of time. But nevertheless since T=0, the beginning of time, you are there, I’m there.”

Similarly, He says elsewhere that, “This knowledge Arjuna that I’m imparting to you right now is eternal. It came directly from the central source to one sage who transmitted it to the next one and to the next one and that entire sequence has now come to you and me.”

So, surely both Krishna

--

--