Travelling, not destination

Acharya Prashant
3 min readNov 18, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Sir, I saw one of your videos titled, ‘Ready to write a new story?’. In this video, you have said that we should not follow the same, old story. I understand that we should write our own story. I know what I want to do and I am walking on that path. What is it that will keep me going? I know which way it is going but what is it that will keep me stick to it and stay motivated about it? Can something be done which will help me save myself and write a new story?

Acharya Prashant (AP): The sheer enjoyment of walking keeps you going. If you think that the lure of reaching, that the lure of the destination keeps you going, then sooner or later you will be exhausted. Those who are attracted by the destination become exhausted. That is why we make goals, but we find that our goals are transient. Goals come and go. Our resolutions keep breaking. It is because they are all focused on the destination, what you want to get.

Contrasted to this, there is another man who is not thinking at all of the destinations. It is because there is hardly any destination. He is enjoying the movement, the traveling itself. The fun in traveling keeps you going. There is no other motivation.

--

--