Two ways to excel in life

Acharya Prashant
4 min readJun 19, 2021

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Acharya Prashant: (Referring about the questioner) Studied The Fountainhead, and from there she has compared the qualities of the creator and the repeater- which she (the questioner) has called as the second-hander. And in a tabular form, she has presented a comparison of the qualities or attributes of these two sets of people. It’s quite comprehensively done, well done. Then she is asking, “Please help me understand how a person like me who was average in studies, is average in the profession, pursue some hobbies, but just for fun, can apply those learnings?”

She (the questioner) says, “I don’t see myself creating anything. My work is regular, where I carry out tasks assigned to me, I do it in the best possible way I can, but hold no desire to excel over there and the same is the case with all the hobbies I have. However, there is a faint desire to excel at something, which is sometimes felt in the form of uneasiness.”

You will have to grope in the dark a little, Vatsala (the questioner). There are two ways to go about it; both are effective, both are applicable. I will narrate both of them to you. She is asking, how to find out something that she can really put her heart into? She says, she has, in general, been average or mediocre in her studies and career so…

--

--