Use thought, don’t be used by thought

Acharya Prashant
10 min readMar 1, 2022

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Listener (L): Sir, I find myself falling again and again and then again I hold on, and then again I manage to fall somehow.

AP: So after this moment, do not fall. Now that is too much, right? After this moment, do not fall! That scares!

L: It’s like I force myself to fall somehow but then I hold.

AP: Then don’t force yourself.

L: But when I am doing that, I do not see that I am forcing.

AP: It is not a question of seeing. All is happening as per your wish. Why do you have a grudge against your own wish? Only that is happening which you want to happen. You are not even falling, you are enjoying the fall. So, now what is your problem against your own intentions? Your problem is that your intentions do not quite coincide with what you hear here. The problem is not that you have seen the baselessness and the hollow-lessness of your intention. It is just that you want your intentions to be aligned with these external words that are falling on your ears.

L: Then whatever I do, when I have fallen, it’s just that the hollowness becomes gaping and that’s my clue that I am…

--

--