Watch your pleasures, see how they stain the mind

Acharya Prashant
2 min readOct 12, 2020

The following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Question: Acharya Ji, Charan Vandan! It is getting hard these days. I keep remembering you every moment. First of all, it is difficult for me to realize that I was wrong in so many aspects, but there is no option, so I am working on it.

Secondly, you taught me to take responsibility and take care of my friend. I am doing that to the best of my ability, but the response is not very encouraging. Often I feel like giving up on the responsibility you encouraged me towards. But then, I remember your words and stay put.

Acharya Prashant (AP): Stay put. A lot of it will go towards your cleansing.

You have had pleasures, haven’t you?

And if pleasures are not properly watched, if they are not under the illuminated scrutiny of Wisdom, then they have a tendency to taint the mind.

In fact, most of the taints on the mind are residues from our episodes of pleasure.

I understand you are having a difficult time. I understand your friend too is having a difficult time. But if you can pass through it with patience and wisdom, and equanimity, both of you will be changed persons.

This turbulence that you are facing, is

--

--