We are all born married

Acharya Prashant
3 min readJun 12, 2020

Following is an excerpt from a samvaad (dialogue) session with Acharya Prashant.

Listener: Is it possible to live alone?

Acharya Prashant: Why does this question arise?

L: Because I don’t want to get married.

AP: Why don’t you want to get married?

L: Because I want to go on the path of spirituality. And dependency should not be there. I feel that if I marry someone, I will be dependent.

AP: What if you are dependent on somebody or something else even if you don’t marry?

L: I feel complete without marriage.

AP: Then, why does this question arise?

L: Because sometimes there is a loneliness in my mind, I want to get rid of that?

AP: So, you are already in a way wedded to that loneliness. Right?

It is not the woman that troubles you, it is the feeling — the attachment, the loneliness, the dependency. They may be there even if the woman is not there.

Had liberation been just about not having a woman in your life or not marrying, then it would have been so simplistic. Don’t marry and you are liberated.

It does not happen that way.

--

--